Quick Answer: Who Is The Youngest Recipient Of Ashok Chakra Award?

Who got the Param Vir Chakra?

Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonAs of January 2018, Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon, who was awarded the Param Vir Chakra posthumously in 1971, is the only Indian Air Force officer to have been honoured with the medal.

Subedar Major Bana Singh, Subedar Sanjay Kumar and Subedar Yogendra Singh Yadav, are the only living recipients of the award..

What happened to Pan Am 73 hijackers?

Twenty passengers and crew, including two US citizens, were killed on September 5, 1986 when the hijackers took control of Frankfurt-bound Pan Am flight 73 for some 16 hours. … It came to an end when the hijackers opened fire on passengers and crew, causing Pakistani commandos to storm the plane.

Is Neerja Bhanot still alive?

Deceased (1963–1986)Neerja Bhanot/Living or Deceased

Which award is highest in India?

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service).

Who got Ashok Chakra in 2020?

Jyoti Prakash NiralaPresident Ram Nath Kovind awarded India’s highest peacetime military decoration Ashok Chakra (31) posthumously to Indian Air Force (IAF) Garud commando Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala. He had laid down his life after gunning down two terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir.

Who got Ashok Chakra award in 2019?

Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad WaniMilitant-turned-soldier Nazir Ahmad Wani’s kin receive Ashok Chakra from President Kovind. Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani has been posthumously awarded Indias highest peace time gallantry award, the Ashok Chakra. President Ram Nath Kovind presented the award to Wani’s wife Mahajabeen.

Who Honoured Neerja Bhanot?

dancer Subhashini VasanthThe renowned bharatnatyam dancer Subhashini Vasanth has been honoured with the 2015 Neerja Bhanot Bravery Award.

When did Rama Bhanot died?

September 5, 1986She was 86. Rama was also the mother of flight attendant Neerja Bhanot who lost her life trying to save the lives of 379 passengers from terrorists on board the hijacked PanAm Flight 73 on September 5, 1986.

Who gives Sena Medal?

The VM was established on 17 June 1960 by the President of India and awards have been made from 1961 onwards. Awards over the past decade or more have been classified into two categories. One is Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry) and the other for Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty).

What is Avsm in army?

Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM) is a military award of India given to recognize “distinguished service of an exceptional order” to all ranks of the armed forces. … The award can also be granted posthumously. Subsequent awards are represented by a bar worn on the ribbon.

Which is the second highest gallantry award in India?

Maha Vir ChakraMaha Vir Chakra – Maha Vir Chakra is the second-highest military decoration in India and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air. Vir Chakra – Third in precedence in the awards for wartime gallantry.

Who is the first woman recipient of Ashok Chakra award?

For her bravery, the Government of India posthumously awarded Bhanot the Ashoka Chakra Award, India’s highest gallantry award for bravery in the face of the enemy during peacetime. She is the youngest recipient and the first female recipient of this award.

Why Ashok Chakra is blue?

The Ashoka Chakra is rendered in navy blue on a white background replacing the symbol of the charkha of the pre-independence version of the flag. The chakra signifies that there is life in movement and death in stagnation. It represents the dynamism of a peaceful change.

Who got first Ashok Chakra?

Suhas BiswasSuhas Biswas was the first Indian Air Force officer to be awarded the Ashoka Chakra.