Quick Answer: Who Recently Ashok Chakra Award?

Who got the Param Vir Chakra 2019?

Commander Abhinandan VarthamanIndian Air Force Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman, who spent some days in Pakistani custody when his MiG-21 was shot down in a fight with PAF jets a day after the February 26 Balakot airstrike, will be awarded the Vir Chakra on Independence Day i.e.

August 15, 2019..

Who got Param Vir Chakra during Kargil war?

Sanjay Kumar, Naib Subedar Yogendra Singh Yadav, Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey and Captain Vikram Batra were awarded the Param Vir Chakra for their exemplary courage, their gallant acts and their determination under extreme conditions.

What is the Colour of our flag?

The National flag of India is a horizontal tricolor of deep saffron (kesari) at the top, white in the middle and dark green at the bottom in equal proportion. The ratio of width of the flag to its length is two to three. In the centre of the white band is a navy blue wheel which represents the chakra.

Who is the youngest recipient of Ashok Chakra award?

Lt Rakesh Singh2/Lt Rakesh Singh: Youngest recipient of Ashoka Chakra : The Tribune India.

Who got Ashoka Chakra award?

Ashoka Chakra recipientsYearRankBranch2019Lance NaikIndian Army2018CorporalIndian Airforce2017HavildarIndian Army2016Lance NaikIndian Army81 more rows

Who is the first woman recipient of Ashok Chakra award?

For her bravery, the Government of India posthumously awarded Bhanot the Ashoka Chakra Award, India’s highest gallantry award for bravery in the face of the enemy during peacetime. She is the youngest recipient and the first female recipient of this award.

Why Ashok Chakra is blue?

The Ashoka Chakra is rendered in navy blue on a white background replacing the symbol of the charkha of the pre-independence version of the flag. The chakra signifies that there is life in movement and death in stagnation. It represents the dynamism of a peaceful change.

Who made Indian flag?

Pingali VenkayyaWhile the flag has undergone changes in the past decades, its basic framework is credited to Pingali Venkayya. On India’s 73rd Independence Day, ThePrint looks back at the life of Venkayya and his contribution to India’s national flag.

When did Rama Bhanot died?

September 5, 1986She was 86. Rama was also the mother of flight attendant Neerja Bhanot who lost her life trying to save the lives of 379 passengers from terrorists on board the hijacked PanAm Flight 73 on September 5, 1986.

Who got Param Vir Chakra?

Somnath SharmaThe Grenadiers, with three awards, have received the greatest number of Param Vir Chakras….Recipients.NameSomnath SharmaUnitKumaon RegimentDate of action3 November 1947*ConflictBattle of BadgamPlace of actionBadgam, J & K, India20 more columns

Who got first Maha Vir Chakra?

WING COMMANDER ALLAN ALBERT D’COSTA (4580) F(P) During the operations, the officer led no fewer than 15 missions deep into enemy territory against heavily defended targets, thus setting a fine example to his pilots. On 4th December, 1971, Wing Commander D’Costa was first to strike at the enemy’s RISALWALA airfield.

Who invented Ashok Chakra?

1. Writing in his journal, Young India, Mahatma Gandhi first spoke about the need for an Indian flag in 1921. He proposed a flag with the charkha or spinning wheel at the centre.

What happened to Pan Am 73 hijackers?

Twenty passengers and crew, including two US citizens, were killed on September 5, 1986 when the hijackers took control of Frankfurt-bound Pan Am flight 73 for some 16 hours. … It came to an end when the hijackers opened fire on passengers and crew, causing Pakistani commandos to storm the plane.

Who got Ashok Chakra in 2020?

Jyoti Prakash NiralaPresident Ram Nath Kovind awarded India’s highest peacetime military decoration Ashok Chakra (31) posthumously to Indian Air Force (IAF) Garud commando Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala. He had laid down his life after gunning down two terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir.

Who got the first Param Vir Chakra?

Major Somnath SharmaMajor Somnath Sharma, PVC (31 January 1923 – 3 November 1947), of the Indian Army, was the first recipient of the Param Vir Chakra (PVC), India’s highest military decoration. Sharma was commissioned into the 8th Battalion, 19th Hyderabad Regiment, in 1942.