Who Is The National River In India?

Which river is called Indian Nile?

Indus RiverIndus Sindhu• locationTibetan Plateau2nd sourceGar TsangpoSource confluence• locationShiquanhe, Ngari Prefecture, Tibet and India38 more rows.

Which river is called China’s sorrow?

The Yellow RiverThe Yellow River is also called “China’s Sorrow”. Each year, over 1.6 billion tons of soil flows into the Yellow River, which causes the continual rise and shift of the riverbed.

Is there any dam on Ganga river?

There are two major dams on the Ganga. … The other dam is a serious hydroelectric affair at Farakka, close to the point where the main flow of the river enters Bangladesh, and the tributary Hooghly (also known as Bhagirathi) continues in West Bengal past Calcutta.

Why Ganga is our national river?

Why was it made a national symbol? The Ganga is India’s longest river (2,525 km) and is considered the holiest of rivers by Hindus. It was declared a national river by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in 2008 in order to achieve the objectives of the Ganga Action Plan, initiated by PM Rajiv Gandhi in 1985.

Where does Ganga meet the sea?

Sagar IslandThis place is called Gangasagar. It is the southern tip of a 20-mile-long, finger-shaped strip of land known as Sagar Island, at the western end of the giant delta through which the Ganges passes to sea, via India and Bangladesh. Hindus consider the island to be a sacred spot.

Who is the India’s longest river?

Sl. No.RiverLength (km)1.Indus2,9002.Brahmaputra2,9003.Ganga2,5104.Godavari1,4504 more rows

Which river is called Hwang Ho of India?

Yellow RiverYellow RiverPostalHwang HoshowTranscriptionsTibetan nameTibetanརྨ་ཆུ།9 more rows

Which state Brahmaputra enters first in India?

Arunachal PradeshThe river originates from the Kailash ranges of Himalayas at an elevation of 5300 M. After flowing through Tibet it enters India through Arunachal Pradesh and flows through Assam and Bangladesh before it joins Bay of Bengal. The catchments area of Brahmaputra in Tibet is 2, 93,000 Sq.

Does Ganga originate in China?

Physiography. The Ganges rises in the southern Great Himalayas on the Indian side of the border with the Tibet Autonomous Region of China. Its five headstreams—the Bhagirathi, the Alaknanda, the Mandakini, the Dhauliganga, and the Pindar—all rise in the mountainous region of northern Uttarakhand state.

Which state in India has no river?

NagalandNone. The state with the least no of rivers is Nagaland, with only 3 rivers.

Which is the national river of India answer?

Ganga RiverGanga River or Ganges River was declared as the National River of India on November 4, 2008, by the Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Since then, it has been a part of the National Symbols of India.

WHO declared Ganga as National River?

Prime Minister Manmohan SinghMore than two decades after Rajiv Gandhi conceptualised the Ganga Action Plan (GAP), Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Tuesday decided to declare Ganga a ‘National River’ to achieve the objectives of the clean-up operation. The decision was taken during a review of the Ganga Action Plan by the Prime Minister.

When was Ganga declared as National River of India?

November 4, 2008Following the meeting, the PM declared the Ganga as the National River on November 4, 2008 and decided to set up National Ganga River Basin Authority as an empowered planning, implementing and monitoring authority for the Ganga.

Which rivers flow from China to India?

China has claimed express ownership over Tibet’s waters, making it an upstream controller of seven of South Asia’s mightiest rivers – the Indus, Ganges, Brahmaputra, Irrawaddy, Salween, Yangtze and Mekong.

Which river crosses most states in India?

GangaRivers in India – Length and Touching StatesName of RiversTouching StatesLengthGangaUttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, West Bengal2,525 K.M.YamunaUttarakhand,Himachal Pradesh,Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Delhi1,376 K.M.BrahmaputraAssam, Arunachal,Tibet2,900 K.M.MahanadiChhattisgarh, Odisha858 K.M.37 more rows•Jan 4, 2018